Patty Melts

I didn’t take a picture of last night’s dinner.  I made patty melts.  Why would I blog about hamburgers?

Because they were delicious, that’s why.  Here is the good part of my attempt to make Food 52’s retro dinner.

Patty Melts (adapted from Food 52) – serves 4

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 lbs ground beef (I use 85/15)
  • 3 t. Worcestershire sauce
  • 1 1/2 t. dijon mustard
  • kosher salt and ground pepper
  • mushrooms (an 8 oz package will do – I buy bulk brown mushrooms)
  • 1 onion
  • 4 slices of rye bread
  • 4 slices of cheddar cheese (enough to cover the bread.  I use Cabot extra sharp white cheddar, because I have a fondness for Vermont)

Instructions:

1) Mix ground beef, Worcestershire sauce, dijon mustard, salt and pepper together.  Form 4 oval shaped patties, to fit the shape of the bread.  Put the patties back in the refrigerator while you do other stuff.

2) Make your side dish.  In this case, it was chocolate pudding.  (Hey, it was Food 52’s suggestion!)  Might want to go with a salad or some other veggie.

3) Slice the mushrooms.  Saute them in about 1 T. butter and 1 T olive oil (or all olive oil) in a large skillet for about 3-5 minutes, until they wilt and release juices, but still retain some of their shape.  Set aside.

4) Slice the onion.  In the same skillet that you used for the mushrooms, saute the onion in about 1 T. butter and 1 T. olive oil (or all olive oil) for 10-15 minutes, stirring from time to time, until the onion gets brown.  Set aside.

5) In the same skillet that you’ve been using, fry the burgers for about 5 minutes on each side.  No oil is needed, but make sure the pan is hot before you put the burgers in.

6) I buttered the rye bread, thinking I was going to brown the bread in the same pan that I did everything else.  But the fat from the burgers dissuaded me, so I ended up toasting the bread in the toaster (even though I had already buttered them!).  Worked fine.

7) Place a slice of bread on each plate.  Put a piece of cheese on the warm bread.  Top with a burger, mushrooms, and onions.  I served the sandwiches open faced, because do I really want the extra carbs?  But feel free to use another slice of bread to top the sandwich.  It’s going to be messy either way.

So simple, but so delicious.

Leave a Reply

