Millet With Cheese and Chives

Normally I wouldn’t blog about a side dish.  The Good Enough Gourmet usually makes simple side dishes, like roasted broccoli or rice or a salad.  Furthermore, the Good Enough Gourmet does not have time to look for a main dish recipe and then a separate side dish recipe.  But I made this millet the other day and now I’m addicted.  It’s like polenta, but toothier.  Come to think of it, it could serve as a main dish.  Just saute some mushrooms and garlic and spoon on top of the millet, add a salad, and there’s dinner.

Millet with Cheese and Chives, adapted from Food 52

Ingredients:

  • 1 c. millet (I bought it from the bulk bins at Whole Foods — that way I could buy only as much as I needed for the recipe)
  • 2 c. milk
  • salt
  • 1 T. olive oil
  • 4 oz. Fontina cheese
  • 2 T. blue cheese
  • pepper
  • 2 T. chopped chives
  • 1 T. butter
  • mushrooms (if using)

Instructions:

1) Heat a large saucepan or dutch oven and add millet to the dry, hot pan.  Cook, stirring frequently, until the millet starts to smell toasty — about 5 minutes.

2) Add milk, 3 c. water, 1 t. salt, and olive oil and bring to a boil.

3) When mixture comes to a boil, give a stir, turn the heat down, and cover.  Let simmer for  20 minutes.  Stir once or twice to make sure the mixture doesn’t stick to the bottom of the pan.

4) After 20 minutes, stir well and cook for 10-15 more minutes, stirring frequently.

5) Turn off heat, add cheeses, salt and pepper, and chives and stir.  To gild the lily, stir in 1 T. butter.

You don’t see any chives in my picture above because I knew I had chives in my fridge so didn’t buy more on my last shopping trip.  I didn’t realize the chives were past their prime, ergo no chives in the picture.  Was still delicious though.

Leave a Reply

