Moroccan Merguez Ragout

Don’t be intimidated by some of the ingredients in this dish — I’ll give you alternatives.

Moroccan Merguez Ragout, adapted from Food 52

Ingredients:

  • 1 T. ras el hanout (a spice mixture – I used 1/4 t. each of cumin, ginger, coriander, and cinnamon and 1/8 t. each of cayenne and cloves)
  • 1 t. paprika (recipe called for Spanish sweet smoked; I used regular paprika)
  • 1 t. kosher salt
  • olive oil
  • 1 onion
  • 4 garlic cloves
  • 1 lb. merguez sausage (sometimes they have this at my Whole Foods, another time I bought it in a kosher market frequented by many Middle Easterners — I do live in LA, so ingredients like merguez are easier to find.  You can substitute another kind of sausage or leave it out completely.)
  • 2 cans diced tomatoes
  • 1 T. harissa (Ditto on my comment above.  In LA, it’s not hard to find harissa.  The original recipe said to use the harissa as a condiment to put on top of the eggs, but I added it during cooking.  Feel free to leave it out if you can’t find it easily.)
  • 8 eggs
  • cilantro

Instructions:

1) Mise en place.  Mix spices together (the ras el hanout combination, the paprika and the salt).  Chop onion, mince garlic.

2) Saute onion and garlic in the olive oil, in a large skillet.

3) Add merguez (removed from casing) and saute until cooked through.

4) Add spices and cook for a minute.

5) Add tomatoes and harissa.  Cook for about 5 minutes.

6) Prepare your side dish.  In this case, I buttered a baguette and stuck it in the oven to warm.

7) Carefully crack eggs over the mixture.  Cover and cook until whites have set but yolks are still soft.  My skillet doesn’t have a lid so I covered the pan with foil.

8) Top with cilantro, unless you’re me and hate cilantro.  Then deprive your family of ever having cilantro at home.

9) Spoon egg and ragout into a bowl, being careful not to break the yolk.  Take bread out of oven and enjoy.

Leave a Reply

