Curried Tomato Soup with Croutons

Don’t let the picture fool you.  As soon as I took this picture, I grabbed more croutons and put them in my bowl.  They were that good.  The soup was delicious too.

Curried Tomato Soup With Croutons, adapted from 101 Cookbooks

Ingredients:

  • CROUTONS:
  • baguette
  • butter and/or olive oil
  • 1 1/2 T. whole grain mustard
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • SOUP:
  • butter and/or olive oil
  • 1 onion
  • salt
  • 3 tsp. curry powder
  • 1 tsp. coriander
  • 1 tsp. cumin
  • 1/4 to 1/2 tsp. red pepper flakes
  • 2 28-oz cans crushed tomatoes or tomato puree
  • a small amount of cream, half-and-half, coconut milk, or whatever you like to make the soup creamy (I used cream)

Instructions:

1) Make croutons.  Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Cut baguette into cubes.  I used the whole baguette, because everyone in my family loves croutons.  I cut the baguette into cubes a day or so before I needed them, so they would dry out a little.

2) In a large microwave-safe bowl, melt about 2 T. butter in the microwave.  After melting the butter, I added some olive oil because I had a lot of bread.  Add the mustard and salt and whisk together.

3) Add the bread and toss so the cubes are evenly coated.  Spread the cubes onto a baking sheet lined with foil and bake for 15 minutes, tossing once or twice.

4) Make the soup.  Chop the onion, and saute in butter and/or olive oil.  (I used a combination of both.)  While onion is cooking, add some salt.  When onion is translucent, add the spices.  Stir for about 30 seconds.

5)  Add tomatoes and 6 cups of water.  (This recipe makes a lot of soup.)  Simmer for 15 minutes.  Taste somewhere along the way, and add salt if needed.

6) At this point, the recipe tells you to puree the soup.  I thought I’d avoid that step by buying crushed tomatoes rather than the whole tomatoes that the recipe calls for.  (Does anyone really buy whole tomatoes when there are diced tomatoes to be had?)  Between the onions and the crushed tomatoes (which were not as smooth as I thought), my soup was a little chunky.  But I liked it that way.  Feel free to puree if you like smoother soup.  Or use tomato puree instead of crushed tomatoes.

7) You can stop at this point.  Or you can gild the lily and add something to make the soup creamy.  I added cream — about 1/4 cup, I’d say.  I didn’t measure — just stopped pouring and stirring when the soup looked light enough.

8) Serve, with croutons.

Leave a Reply

