Sausage with Mustardy Potatoes

I am insanely crazy about this recipe.  It’s easy, tasty, and everyone in my family loves it.  It’s sausage and potatoes – what could be bad?  I’ve made it into a one-pot dish.

Sausage with Mustardy Potatoes, adapted from Dinner, A Love Story

Ingredients:

  • 4 sausage links (any kind you like – I used bratwurst)
  • 1 bag small potatoes (recipe calls for 1 lb, but most bags hold a bit more)
  • 2 T. Dijon mustard
  • 2 T. olive oil
  • fresh thyme
  • salt and pepper

Instructions:

1) Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

2) In a dutch oven or other large pot that can go in the oven, boil the potatoes (I cut the potatoes in half) in salted water for 3-4 minutes.  Drain and set aside (I kept them in the colander).

3) Add some olive oil to the dutch oven and brown the sausage on all sides.  NOTE: if you don’t care about having a one-pot meal, you can brown the sausage in a skillet while the potatoes are boiling to save time.

4) While the sausage is browning, whisk together the mustard and olive oil, and chop the thyme.

5) When the sausage is brown, push the sausage to the side of the pan, add the potatoes, and pour the mustard mixture, thyme, salt and pepper over the potatoes, and mix well.  I also added some herbes de Provence just because I have some that I rarely use, so why not gild the lily?

6)  Put the sausage links on top of the potatoes and bake for 25 minutes.  NOTE: I used uncooked sausage — if you use precooked sausage, you should probably bake for a shorter time.

The sausage juices get cooked into the potatoes, and the mustard gets onto the sausage — everything takes on a wonderful flavor.

Because I served myself last, I got stuck with the broken sausage.

Leave a Reply

