Glazed Balsamic Sweet Potatoes

By request, I am sharing the recipe for Ottolenghi’s glazed balsamic sweet potatoes.  I have adapted the recipe, as the recipe I followed was British and called for things like caster sugar and spring onions.  Forgive me, it’s been a while since I’ve made this, so I can’t remember exactly how I converted the glaze ingredients – I’m giving you the original recipe proportion and an approximate conversion.

IMG_1086

Glazed Balsamic Sweet Potatoes, adapted from Ottolenghi

Ingredients:

  • 4 small sweet potatoes
  • olive oil
  • salt and pepper
  • balsamic vinegar (40 ml – between 1-2 oz?)
  • sugar (20 g – a little more than 1 T?)
  • 12 green onions
  • red chile pepper flakes
  • 6 fresh figs (I omitted this since I couldn’t find them at the time)
  • goat cheese

Instructions:

1) Preheat oven to 425.

2) Cut sweet potatoes into wedges.  (Cut in half lengthwise, and cut each half into wedges.   You can cut the wedges in half if your potato is long.)  Toss with olive oil, salt and pepper.  Put skin side down onto a baking sheet (which I line with foil) and roast for 25 minutes or until soft.

3) Combine balsamic vinegar and sugar in a small saucepan.  Bring to a boil, then simmer a few minutes until the mixture thickens.  Remove pan from heat when mixture is still runnier than honey, because it can’t be drizzled if it’s too thick.

4) Add olive oil to a small pan and saute green onions and red chile flakes for a few minutes.

5) Put roasted potato wedges on a platter, add green onions, and drizzle the balsamic glaze.  Dot with goat cheese and serve.  Can be served warm or at room temperature.

In reference to my last post about Ottolenghi recipes being better (i.e. more time consuming) than Good Enough, I did think it was a bit of a drag to have to roast potatoes, make glaze, saute green onions (3 pans plus a serving platter!) for a weeknight dinner.  But I would definitely make this again for a special occasion.

Leave a Reply

