Salmon Bisque

IMG_1903I felt like a superhero when I make this dish.  I had worked a long day and got home late.  I would have gone to our “too late to cook” standby – quesadillas – except we just did that the night before.  So I resigned myself to a late dinner and started cooking.  Surprisingly, this didn’t take that long, and was really good, especially for the minimal level of effort and time it took.  Who says women can’t do it all?  Ha ha ha, right.

I feel a little guilty sharing this recipe because it has a lot of cream and butter.  Normally, I have no problem with butter and cream.  I like real food, and would rather have cream than some artificial ingredient.  But this dish has a lot of cream.  Be forewarned.  But then again, it has salmon, which I’m sure more than counteracts the cream healthwise!

Salmon Bisque, adapted from the Los Angeles Times

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 c. butter
  • 1-2 leeks (1 large, or 2 small)
  • 8 oz. mushrooms
  • 1 T. minced garlic
  • 2 3/4 c. (22 oz.) clam juice (My clam juice came in 8 oz. bottles, so I used 2 bottles and used water for the remaining 6 oz.)
  • 1 28 oz. can crushed tomatoes
  • 1/4 c. chopped parsley
  • 1 T. chopped dill
  • salt and pepper
  • about 1 lb. (or a little more) salmon
  • 2 T. flour
  • 2 c. heavy cream (told you)

Instructions:

1) Wash your leeks.  Leeks are extremely dirty.  Or do what I did and buy pre-washed packaged leeks at Trader Joe’s.  To wash leeks, cut off the green part, then slice the leek lengthwise and run the leek under water, separating the layers to get all the dirt out.

2) Slice leeks, mushrooms, and press garlic.  Melt butter in a large pot, add vegetables and saute until soft.

3) While vegetables are cooking, chop your herbs and set aside.  I advise you to do this now, because you’re going to flip your cutting board to cut the salmon on the other side, to avoid cross-contamination.  You’ll want the herbs already chopped.  (I speak from experience, having flipped my board and cut my salmon, only to realize that I hadn’t chopped my herbs and had to wash the board so I wouldn’t contaminate anything.)

4) Flip your cutting board and cube your salmon into 1/2 inch cubes.

5) When the vegetables are soft, add clam juice, tomatoes, parsley, dill, salt and pepper.  Bring to a simmer and add the salmon.  Simmer for about 5 minutes, until the salmon is fully cooked. (I told you this was fast.)

6) While the soup is cooking, whisk the flour into the cream.  When the salmon is cooked, add the cream/flour and simmer about 5 minutes until thickened.

That’s it!

 

3 thoughts on “Salmon Bisque

  1. Dear GEG,
    I tried this Salmon Bisque recipe and, while it was delicious, I do have one suggestion for improvement. After the vegetables and “clam juice” (I used veggie stock) have simmered, I recommend pureeing the soup with a hand immersion blender prior to adding the salmon. This way the soup has a creamy texture and the chunkiness of the salmon really stands out.

Leave a Reply

