The Good Enough Gourmet Joins A CSA

Rhymes. Nice.

CSA stands for Community-Sponsored Agriculture, and by joining I get a box of fruits and vegetables delivered to my doorstep every week, sourced from local farms.

I’ve thought about joining a CSA in the past, but rejected the idea. I live within walking distance from a farmers’ market; CSAs can be expensive; and most importantly, I’m big on meal planning and thought it would be too complicated to work around what’s in my farm box. But when a friend posted a picture of her farm box on Facebook, I decided to give it a try.

My first delivery came on Sunday. I was excited when I unpacked, and then……mild panic attack. What was I going to make this week with all this random produce? After much scouring of my recipes, the internet, and my cooking muscle memory, along with a few deep, cleansing breaths, I made a plan. And went shopping, delighted with how little I had to buy (which would have been much less if it weren’t Trader Joe’s holiday specialty item season – hello dark chocolate star cookies and white chocolate peppermint bark-coated pretzel slims).

Here’s what I’m making this week:
1) lentil soup (uses the leek, carrots, and a bit of sweet potato) and salad (uses the baby mustard greens, carrots, tomatoes, and an avocado)
2) sausage and vegetable stew (uses the other leek, sweet potato, carrots, and parsnips)
3) roasted fish and salad with roasted heirloom beets and goat cheese (uses the baby mustard greens and the beets)
4) lamb burgers with sautéed beet greens and baked potato chips (uses the rosemary, the shallot, the lemon, the beet greens, and the potatoes)
5) rice and quinoa bowl with vegetables and tahini sauce (uses the shallot, the sweet potato, the kale, the carrots, and the other avocado)

You might think these vegetables sound boring, but when I say carrots, I’m talking tiny, colorful heirloom carrots that you don’t have to peel and are super sweet and have a more carrot-y flavor than other carrots you’ve had.

We’ll see how it goes. So far, I’ve made meal #1 and it was quite good. Pictures and possibly recipes to come.

Leave a Reply

