Cafe Gratitude-Inspired Rice Bowl

20140501-225315.jpg

I love the restaurant Cafe Gratitude. I love it despite the fact that it’s a vegan restaurant. Here’s my take on their rice bowl.

Step 1: the rice. At Cafe Gratitude, you can get rice, quinoa, or half and half. I’m not a quinoa gal, so I always use brown rice.

Step 2: the veggies. You can use whatever veggies you like. Tonight I used beets, onion, fennel, and broccoli. I put the veggies on a foil-lined baking sheet, drizzled them with olive oil and salt and pepper, and roasted them at 400 degrees for 20 minutes. (I microwaved the beets first, otherwise they would have taken close to an hour to roast.)

Step 3: the greens. Sauté greens of some sort in some olive oil. Tonight I used the greens from my beets.

Step 4: the sauce. At Cafe Gratitude, they have several sauces to choose from. But why choose anything other than the garlic tahini sauce? I don’t know what they do to it, and I’ve seen complicated recipes online that I’ve tried to make but it’s not the same. So here’s my Good Enough version: 1/4 c. tahini, juice of one lemon, 2 cloves of garlic, salt, crushed red pepper flakes, and chopped dill. Add about 2 T. of warm water to thin, or more it it’s still too thick.

Step 5: extras. This might be avocado or toasted sesame seeds. At Cafe Gratitude, you can also get their homemade kimchee, which is crazy good.

To assemble: In your bowl, add rice, roasted veggies, greens, sauce, and extras. Instruct your family members to follow your lead. Feel virtuous.

IMG_2752

Leave a Reply

